BCS Level 1 Award in IT User Skills - ICDL Essentials

Level 1 Award

BCS Level 1 Award in IT User Skills (ICDL Essentials) is a qualification accredited by our awarding organisation, BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT and certificated on successful completion of an online exam.

This is a self guided online training course which you can access anytime, anywhere as long as you have access to a computer and internet connection.

The course fee includes:

  • Registration with BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT
  • Online courseware - 1 year access
  • 3 x Online diagnostic (mock) tests
  • 3 x Online invigilated exams via MS Teams or in centre.

These units sets out essential concepts and skills relating to the use of devices, file creation and management, networks and data security.

This module forms part of the ICDL qualification

ICDL is the International Certification of Digital Literacy, is recognised by employers and has been taken by over 15 million people from around the globe and a recognised benchmark of digital workplace skills. Gain a good foundation of widely used office-based skills knowledge using word, spreadsheets, presentation skills and databases.

There are no formal entry requirements for these qualifications and it is assumed that delegates have no previous experience in using a Windows PC / computer.

Mandatory Units:

IT User Fundamentals - J/502/4206

Using Email and the Internet1 - J/502/4299 & T/502/4296

IT Security for Users - R/502/4256

As a BCS Approved Training and Test Centre, Cleverclogs Training can offer both centre based or remote invigilation of ICDL Tests, at mutually convenient date and time in your home, at work or an alternate venue that meets the requirements of the Awarding Body.

ICDL Essentials Level 1 consists of three units and is part of the ICDL qualification.

The natural progression is ICDL Extra.

This suite of qualifications gives learners the opportunity to:

  • progress to employment;

  • prepare for employment;

  • progress to further study;

  • develop further or more advanced skills by completing another qualification within the suite which is either larger or at a higher level.
  • ICDL is the world's number one IT user qualification - over 17 million programmes delivered worldwide

  • Helping you to grow in confidence and unlock the full potential of your computer

  • Flexible programmes at three levels, with study routes tailored to your needs.


BCS Level 1 Award in IT User Skills (ICDL Essentials)

QAN 500/6226/8 - 3 Units


Spring Sale!!


3 Units

3 Diagnostics (mock exams)

3 Exams

BSC Certification

1 year access to online learning

Proof of ID is required by BCS at registration.

Photo by Headway on Unsplash